established 2007



Webelos Badge

4th and 5th Grade boys are Webelos Scouts. The Webelos program is focused on preparing boys for their transition to Boy Scouts while still maintaining a Cub Scout approach. After earning their Bobcat Badge (if they haven't already), Webelos first earn their Webelos badge.


Important Note on Webelos Badge(s)


Note that two Webelos badges are shown on this page. The first is a diamond-shaped cloth badge that is gold and light blue embroidered on dark blue background with gold trim. It is worn on the left pocket of the blue Cub Scout uniform in the 6 o'clock position, as shown in Insignia Guide. This diamond-shaped patch can still be worn by Webelos that have earned it as part of the four-patch 'diamond.'

The other Webelos badge is an oval-shaped cloth badge, gold and light blue embroidered on khaki background with khaki trim. It is worn centered on the left pocket of the khaki Scout shirt, with no other rank patches.


Webelos Badge



  1. Have an adult member of your family read and sign the Webelos Scout Parent Guide in the Webelos Handbook (pages 1-22)

  2. Be an active member of your Webelos den for 3 months (active means good attendance, active participations, etc.)

  3. Know and explain the meaning of the Webelos badge

  4. Point out and explain the parts of the Webelos Scout uniform.  Tell when to wear the uniform and when not to wear it

  5. Earn the Fitness and Citizen Activity Badges and one other Activity Badge from another group

  6. Plan and lead a flag ceremony in your den that includes the US flag

  7. Show that you know and understand the requirements to be a Boy Scout

    1. Demonstrate the Scout salute, Scout sign, and Scout handshake. Explain when you would use them.

    2. Explain the Scout Oath, Scout Law, Scout motto, and Scout slogan

    3. Explain and agree to follow the Outdoor Code.

  8. Faith, do these (a, b, and c)

  1. KNOW: Tell what you have learned about faith

  2. COMMIT: Tell how these faith experiences help you live your duty to God. Name one faith practice that you will continue to do in the future

  3. PRACTICE: After doing these requirements, tell what you have learned about your beliefs

And do one of these (d OR e)

  1. Earn the religious emblem of your faith  If you earned your faith's religious emblem earlier in Cub Scouting, and your faith does not have a Webelos religious emblem, you must complete requirement 8e

  2. Do two of these:

    • Attend the mosque, church, synagogue, temple, or other religious organization of your choice, talk with your religious leader about your beliefs. Tell your family and your Webelos den leader what you learned.

    • Discuss with your family and Webelos den leader how your religious beliefs fit in with the Scout Oath and Scout Law, and what character-building traits your religious beliefs have in common with the Scout Oath and Scout Law.

    • With your religious leader, discuss and make a plan to do two things you think will help you draw nearer to God. Do these things  for a month.

    • For at least a month, pray or meditate reverently each day as taught by your family, and by your church, temple, mosque, synagogue, or religious group.

    • Under the direction of your religious leader, do an act of service for someone else. Talk about your service with your family and Webelos den leader. Tell them how it made you feel.

    • List at least two ways you believe you have lived according to your religious beliefs.

Completion of Requirement 8e does NOT qualify a Scout to receive the religious emblem of faith